Home Get Involved Latest NewsNew Bern Municipal Election Results

New Bern Municipal Election Results

The unofficial results of the October 2017 election resulted in a majority of registered Democrats elected to municipal offices.

Mayor Dana Outlaw (a registered Democrat) won reelection with 64% of the vote.

Three registered Democrats were elected as Aldermen: Jameesha Harris (Ward 2), Johnnie Ray Kinsey (Ward 4), and Barbara J. Best (Ward 5). They’ll be joined on the Board of Aldermen by Sabrina Bengel (Ward 1), Bobby Aster (Ward 3), and Jeffrey Odham (Ward 6).

The voter turnout of 3,766 was 30% below the turnout in 2013, and over 500 less than the results in 2009.

Incumbent Democratic Alderman Bernard White (5th Ward) lost by 11 votes, according to the unofficial results. Should the official canvas not change the outcome, we thank and salute Mr. White for his many years of service to the residents of New Bern on the Board of Aldermen.

Municipal elections for the rest of Craven County will be held on Tuesday, November 7, 2017. If you need to register to vote or update your registration, the voter registration deadline for the November 7 municipal elections is this Friday, October 13.