Home2019 NC-03 Special Election

2019 NC-03 Special Election

With the passing of Rep. Walter Jones, Jr., who was reelected to represent our congressional district (NC-03) last November, a special election has been declared to fill out the remainder of Rep. Jones’s term until January 2021.

This page is your one-stop shop for information about the NC-03 special election and your Democratic candidates!

Election Dates

The date of the NC-03 primary election is on Tuesday, April 30.

If, in either the Democratic or Republican primaries, no candidate reaches 30% of the vote in the first primary, a second primary election will be held between the top two vote-getters in that primary on July 9, and the general election will be held on September 10. Otherwise, July 9 will be the date of the general election and there will be no election on September 10.

Primary Election:

One-Stop Early Voting

Craven County Board of Elections
406 Craven St., New Bern

Early Voting Hours: 7:00AM-7:00PM

Wednesday, April 10 – Friday, April 12
Monday, April 15 – Thursday, April 18
Monday, April 22 – Friday, April 26

Last day to request an absentee-by-mail ballot: Tuesday, April 23
Election Day: Tuesday, April 30

General Election (or primary runoff if no candidate gets >30% of the primary vote)

One-Stop Early Voting: Wednesday, June 19 – Friday, July 5 (schedule & locations TBD)
Last day to request an absentee-by-mail ballot: Tuesday, July 2
Election Day: Tuesday, July 9

General Election (if a primary runoff is necessary in either party)

One-Stop Early Voting: Wednesday, August 21 – Friday, September 6 (schedule & locations TBD)
Last day to request an absentee-by-mail ballot: Tuesday, September 3
Election Day: Tuesday, September 10

Democratic Candidates

The following candidates have filed for candidacy on the Democratic ticket. The Craven County Democratic Party does not endorse any candidate in a contested Democratic primary.

Democratic Candidates for NC-03

Richard T. Bew
Richard T. Bew
Gregory Humphrey
Gregory Humphrey
Isaiah (Ike) Johnson
Isaiah (Ike) Johnson
Dana Outlaw
Dana Outlaw
Ernest Reeves
Ernest Reeves
Allen Thomas
Allen Thomas